I haven’t updated in quite a while. Not that I have dropped off the earth or I have I led such unassuming life. Just never got around to updating, that’s all.

What has been happening?

  • Finished chemotherapy in early February 2019
  • I have been getting abdominal CT Scans every 6 months since, plus blood work, to ensure there has been no return of the cancer
  • In September 2019 an ultrasound at UCLH detected that my ureters are not behaving properly – they aren’t draining very well (this is due to a reimplantation of the ureters as the tumour had invaded my neo-bladder and Mr Wood had to construct a new neo-bladder, necessitating re-implanting my ureters)
  • Because of the ultrasound in Sept’19 I had something called a Mag-3 Reno-Gram – it was done in the nuclear medicine department – where patients normally go for radiotherapy for their cancers. The reno-gram showed that the ureters are working properly, just slowly, and that everything that should be naturally draining is draining. The only advice I got was to keep drinking my usual fluid intake, but to do it slowly so I don’t overwhelm the kidneys.
  • Had a holiday in Devon in Sept’19 & Prague Dec’19
  • The joys are covid are making it impossible to lead relatively normal lives, but as my job does not require my physical presence I can work from home – so I’m relatively lucky that way.
  • For the past 3 months or so the head pain I have been feeling has been getting worse. I am taking Tylenol 3 and it is only just taking the edge off. I have asked for stronger meds, but in the UK Tylenol ( paracetamol) is considered a strong enough painkiller. I want Percocets but the GP looks at me as if I’m asking for heroin.
  • GP Surgery finally agreed to send me for a head CT – awaiting the results.
  • Had an ultrasound at UCLH and it detected some bladder stones, so I had a CT scan last week to determine how many and how big. Depending on the results of the scan I may have to go back in for stone removal – JOY
  • Still at my same company since May 2018 – this is the longest I’ve been with a company since migrating to the UK. There are some pressures which don’t delight me, but no job is perfect, but for the most part I feel challenged and comfortable with the level of responsibility.
  • Still married 🙂 Just celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary with the husband for 5yrs now & the cat 5.5yrs. Last year we went to Hawksmoor Guildhall for our anniversary meal but with covid couldn’t risk it so we went to a lovely Belgian Bistro in Portsmouth.
  • Have had some outings with the “ladies” – British Museum, Korean Barbeque in Fitzrovia, and sharing the delights of fruitcake.

I am on a staycation at the moment so I am hoping I can post a bit more this week and not leave it for 18 months.