Tags

, , ,

This isn’t a post about frustrations and my needing to either kill or smack someone hard. This is about the little pleasures I am finding in life.

I have been an avid addict of the crochet hook for a while now. Some of my friends have benefitted from this, having received a crocheted chthulhu from me in the past 3 years. I have made god knows how many, but it all started with a very simple question on googletalk from Yalla – he asked if I could make a chthulhu. His wife refused to make him one so he turned to someone he knew – me.

So I took it as a challenge and made my first one 3 years ago. The first one was rather clumsy looking and I have gotten better over the years. My design is mostly free-hand and is fairly simple – a spheroid body, a smaller sphere for the head, 4 sausage shapes for the arms & legs, the tentacles & 2 triangular wings. All lovingly stuffed with lavender.

I find crochet quite relaxing, it’s one of the few pleasures in life in which at the end of the day I have produced something. I am now trying to make my first ever jumper (sweater to those of you in Canada/America) and it’s slow going, but I’m getting the hang of it. Up to this point I’ve made chthulhus, hats, scarves, blankets and slippers .. oh and I once made a version of Sleipnir, Odin’s 8-legged horse.

One of the things I loved about living in Toronto was that my friend Jenn (who adores Hello Kitty, really she does, I can sense it) would host a sort of Stitch n Bitch, and I miss those; the opportunity to share our yarn, tips & tricks, and just have a lovely afternoon playing with our yarn and chatting. I have found one in Southampton and I am hoping to make it out to the next get together.

One downside to living in Southampton is that it’s difficult trying to find cheap yarn. Sometimes you don’t want to spend £4 per ball/skein and just get a bag of the cheap acrylic for something like slippers or a huge throw for the sofa. Plus side to the UK is that RuCraft has some lovely yarns I have been purchasing online and I have yet to be disappointed.

So now I want to try my hand at cross-stitching.

Madness, I know.

