Tags

, , , ,

I got an email from an HR Manager for an up & coming telecom. They found my profile on Linkdin and emailed me asking if I’d be interested in interviewing for a position.

I admit, I have been having a hard time at work, mostly with my manager & her seemingly insensitive nature (re: her not being understanding about my father’s death and how I could not bounce back immediately). And receiving an email asking if I’d be interested in a Managerial position did much to salve my wounded pride. So I said yes to being interviewed.

The position “Manager, Fixed Asset Accounting”. I have done Fixed Assets for the past 10  years; I understand Fixed Asset Accounting, the nuances, the detailed paperwork required to maintain the records and so forth. But in my chosen profession I have been focusing more on Financial Reporting – so in essence I’m in a career track leading towards Finance Director/Controller/Comptroller. My current position, and the one before it, is fairly broad — I do financial reporting, work with VAT calculations, put together schedules for Corporate Tax Filings, Budgeting, Forecasting, Supervise Accounts Payable, and Inter/Intra-Company Reporting. As I said, it’s fairly broad, and if I wanted to limit myself to one particular “stream” taking on a position of Manager, Fixed Assets would be good. But I don’t want to limit myself.

I turned down the opportunity to interview with the telecom because I didn’t want to limit myself. My concern was that if I had taken on such a position in the future I’d be limited or seen to be limited to only Fixed Assets.

But it was wonderful to hear that someone wanted to interview me because they saw my profile on a networking site. I like where I work, except that the pay is nowhere close to what I should be making. But my hope is that I can put in for a transfer, as I do work for a huge multi-national with offices in over 100 countries.

So what is the point of this blog post? In my own weird and meandering way I believe I have written this as a reminder that we don’t have to jump at all opportunities on offer, that taking the time to ponder is better than jumping .. as that leap can hurt us in the long run .. which I found out the hard way in 2007 when I was dismissed over incompetence (though I had received a glowing job performance review 3 months before being fired), and it was a job I jumped at in 2005 because I was so paranoid about not having a job.

