Tags

, , , ,

Thursday night, just before going to bed, I tried to do what everyone else in the world does before climbing into bed – I went to the toilet for a pee. Now, I pee in a different way, I pee by inserting a catheter into a stoma which is just right of my bellybutton. I proceeded to insert my catheter and it wouldn’t go past a certain “curve” in my conduit. I tried for nearly half an hour (this is normally just a 30s process) and finally succeeded. But to do this successfully I had to use a stiff plastic catheter and basically force it in. End result, yes I did manage to pee, but there was a lot of blood and tears. I was so desperate that I was ready to go to the hospital and get a GU tech to take care of it.

Yesterday after work I went over to Starkman’s Medical Supplies to get a foley catheter and a leg bag.

I have inserted the foley catheter, which is an indwelling catheter that is kept in place with a little balloon.

My stoma hurts, a lot. I am leaving the foley in until the pain goes away and the swelling goes down.

