Tags

, , ,

I nearly fell out of my chair this morning, laughing – and not because something was funny, but because how one person was quite delusional.

I was born with a condition called Bladder Exstrophy. I my case I have the “classic” textbook case of it, that all med students would study. It’s not a condition that goes away. In all my years of living with it and meeting others with it, we do achieve varying degrees of “relief” from the effects of Exstrophy but it never disappears – it’s a life long situation.

On one discussion forum one mother refuses to acknowledge that Exstrophy cannot be cured. It’s not a disease, as you cannot pop a pill and hope for the best. It’s a series of physical malformations which have the side effect of bladder refluxes (urine going back up into the kidneys, which can lead to a higher incidence of Kidney Infections – I have “grade 2” reflux and I do get a few kidney infections a year, not to mention the UTIs), increased chances of UTIs, and other “hardships”. This particular mother believes that if she keeps her son on a purely non-processed food diet and with his upcoming surgery he will be “cured” and he will no longer have exstrophy.

I laughed, because this one is so deluded that she’s doing a disservice to herself and her child. I have never heard of anyone being “cured” of exstrophy, you can’t be cured from a physical malformation. At some point in the near future, when her child has some other complications from his exstrophy she will breakdown.

