Tags

, ,

The cartoon, which I admit that I haven’t seen, sparked riots two years ago and attacks against Danish Embassies around the world. As well, the cartoonist was issued death threats. In an act of solidarity several Danish newspapers have re-published the image which was considered disrespectful of both Mohammed and the Danish Muslim Community.

http://www.canada.com/topics/news/world/story.html?id=dc281a7d-d307-4865-a5e0-66cc7da73bf2&k=52703

Now, I have to wonder, was the cartoonist expressing his right to freedom of speech or was he truly producing a piece of cartoon which he knew would be offensive. I’m all for free speech and the initial publishing of the cartoon I can understand, in a way. But for the newspapers to re-publish the cartoon when three individuals have been arrested for the death threats against the cartoonist – that isn’t freedom of speech in my opinion; it is “rubbing salt in raw wounds”.

