Is it wrong hiring a cleaning lady? I have to admit, I am fairly messy (not dirty, just messy) and there are 2 reasons why I don’t clean. One, I hate cleaning… I am fairly lazy at it. Two, I don’t have the time to do it. So I have hired a cleaning lady. And now this is where it gets shocking… I hired my mother. Yup, my mother, the lady who gave me life.

My mother’s pension is quite small, only CPP and OAP, and it’s less than $800/mnth. She’s a fairly able lady and she’s looking for cleaning lady jobs. I have hired her. I know what this sounds like. I am a lazy child who still needs her mommy to clean up her room. I know how to clean, I just don’t have the time.

So I get to benefit from this 2-fold. I have a cleaning lady who I can trust with my various knick-knacks. And I get a tidy apartment. My mom gets to supplement her meagre pension and since I live close to her favourite Goodwill, I am a wonderful excuse for her to come down. Plus, St. Michael’s Cathedral is close-by.

On another note I have taken up my crotcheting again. I haven’t done any in a while, and I am currently making a wee little scarf for winter. It’s a lovely soft shade of beige and I am looking forward to the results. The only concern is Pupa, the neverending torment of my life. Pupa loves, like any self-respecting feline, to chase yarn balls. I have to fight the little demon.

